Thread: Raw Diet.

Raw Diet.

This is my first time posting in a forum, but i need help. I own two saint bernards and realy would like to switch them to the raw diet. Does anyone feed there dogs raw diet here, that could help me out. I have done a lot of research on the net, but i am still not sure how to do it. Oh also what about the supplements. which one's do you recomend.

you could pm finnsmom. she gives finn a raw diet i think.

i feed 2 of my dogs a raw diet..cant say i'd be much help though lol i've only been doing it for about 2 weeks.

mine get one chicken leg quarter every day with one raw egg and plain yogurt. they get chicken liver about 2 maybe 3 times a week. they also get whatever else i pick up at the store like this week they got turkey necks everyday too.

I feed my guys raw for dinner & kibble for breakfast. I was feeding raw all the time for about a month or so but my freezer space wouldn't agree with my pocket book. lol
    My ferrets eat a LOT of raw & the cats eat about the same amount of raw as my dogs, every other meal or so.

You'll discover that everyones version of a raw diet is different, some feed veggies, some dont, some feed veggies but not with the meat, many don't feed any grains at all, some feed supplements some don't.
    The possible ways & ingredients to feed raw seems never ending.
    A lot of it depends on your dogs personal needs, what you are feeding your dogs & what your personal prefferences are.

Most believe that if you feed whole prey (the entire animal) you don't need to add anything to their diets at all.

When you do decide to switch switch cold turkey. Some say it is ok to feed kibble with raw (in the same meal) but most will disagree with that. I myself thinks it just depends on the dog but if you are unsure then I suggest just feeding one or the other.