Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: My "adopted father" passed away

My "adopted father" passed away

A few days after I graduated high school, I got a job at a picture framing shop (and stayed there for 10 years... it was only supposed to be a summer job). I worked for the most wonderful couple and began a lifelong friendship with them. They became as close to me as a second set of parents. They were who I'd fall back on for anything and they'd help me.

In the past year, he has deteriorated badly... Alzheimer's. He passed away in his sleep on Sunday and the funeral is tomorrow. I am beside myself with grief over his passing -- one of the most dynamic men I ever met. Charming, funny, intelligent, enterprising, generous.... he was everything a man aspires to be.

I saw him last about 4 or 5 months ago. He knew exactly who I was, but in his mind, I was still that little high school girl with a whole world ahead of her. He had no idea I'm a married woman with 3 kids and a grandson; he kept asking me if I had a boyfriend yet. I'm smiling bittersweetly at that one. I left the last visit and called hubby to tell him that my adopted father didn't have 6 months left in him. I could tell. He looked awful... skin and bones.

I miss him already

Rest in peace my dear friend. You'll surely make a wonderful angel.

Sorry about your loss.. he sounded like a wonderful man!

Kim...so much has happened in your world lately. I am truly sorry for the loss of this 'father' of yours. Even when you see it coming, it doesn't lessen the shock.

There is a debate over whether it's better to lose someone quickly or slowly, I'm sure you have run into that comment here and there. I believe there is no best way to lose someone you love. It hurts, and it sucks.

I know it's bittersweet for you - but he went in his sleep, and his last memories of you are of that high school girl that he loved; don't all 'dads' think of their daughters as their little girls? (gentle smile here)